Posted by: julesTO | April 24, 2010

Cycle 2 Wrap Up

Hello friends & family,

We met with the oncologist on Friday and hoped to discuss how things are progressing now that we’re at the half way point. Particularly since this was the first meeting in which they had both the tumour marker blood results and the pathology of the tumour itself (they analyzed the detailed make-up of the tumour that was removed). This combination of information gives them a much better understanding of Shaun’s specific case (prognosis, likely next steps, etc.).

Instead, all I can say about Friday’s meeting is… it was weird. First, we had yet another oncologist take our meeting (this is the 4th guy we’ve seen so far) who hadn’t even looked at Shaun’s file but had obviously been told about the mistletoe incident. He kicked off the meeting by making sarcastic remarks about Shaun’s naturopathic treatment, then looked at our list of questions and told us that he couldn’t answer them until the entire 4 rounds of chemo are complete and a follow-up CT scan is done. I even had to ask him for the tumour marker results – he didn’t have them ready. Definitely our least pleasant PMH experience so far. Well, that and the time I ordered an egg sandwich and realized they were about to microwave the egg in a plastic bowl??? Am I the only one who knows this isn’t the way to avoid or beat cancer? Good grief.

More than ever I realize how important it is to advocate for your own health. If something doesn’t feel right, demand further testing. If someone isn’t giving you enough information, ask around until you find someone who will. Track your own information. Do your own research. Ask every question. Email the experts directly. Never assume someone else is doing it for you, or that any one healthcare practitioner knows all there is to know.

On a positive note, we finally met our head nurse today who happened to be away when Shaun’s chemo started. She’s fantastic – very warm and light-hearted. It’s funny how a brief encounter with a person like this can make any experience so much easier. Also, we showed the naturopath Shaun’s stomach and she confirmed all was well – although he is sticking with the ‘no mistletoe’ plan.

Now speaking of tracking information, for those of you who wonder what the hell I do all day (i.e. my parents and Natalie) here’s a big part of it: graphs. If you think you may have slipped into a parallel universe where I work with numbers, I prefer to think of it as organizing information — and you know how I like to organize. ANYWAY, take a look at Shaun’s tumour markers to date (click to enlarge):

Although we don’t know exactly how good these results are, we know we want the numbers to be as low as possible. So as far as we’re concerned they’re looking better and better! Bring on Cycle 3 and screw you cancer!

Once again, thank you for your ongoing concern and friendship.

Have a great weekend!

xoxo J & S


Responses

  1. At the rate that graph is descending, i would think by end of the next Cycle your numbers should be minus something!! Looking good.
    Keep on truckin’…can’t wait until the book comes out

  2. Hi Julianne. This is the first time I’ve read this and I apologize for that! Cindy Mar told me at IRD about your man and my heart goes out to you. What kind of treatment does the naturopath have him on? I think a collective approach is awesome. Did you see the movie Food Matters? Lots of vegetable juices and loads of high quality vitamin C have been shown to be effective in fighting cancer – if you aren’t already doing this!!! I’m rooting for you guys!

    • Thanks Michelle :). We’re definitely believers of the collective approach – I just wish the doctors were too! I’ll send you a message with the supplements he’s taking but you’ll be happy to know there’s a lot of juicing going on over here! BTW, congrats on your pregnancy – great news!! Take care, J

  3. I hope you never encounter this oncologist again! In fact, it might be good to request that. Three cheers for your primary nurse. Glad to hear that she made the day a more positive experience for the two of you. Love the chart, Julianne! It’s the perfect marriage of your organizational and artistic sides.

    Needless to say, we are ecstatic about the marker scores! Keep up the good work.

  4. LOVE those plummetting graph lines! Thanks for coming out, cancer….but you’re going DOWN! Great results Shaun, and thanks Julianne for sharing; keep the amazing progress reports coming 🙂
    Love & hugs,
    Kel

  5. The graph looks awesome! Great stuff!
    I think that you might want to keep a close connection with the head nurse. It’s always good to have that kind of person in your corner.

    My personal experience with hospitals leads me to say, be pro-active in your approach to all your dealings with PMH. If you don’t like the doctor make sure you don’t have to deal with him again.Try to get appointments with the one, or ones, you are comfortable with. If someone can’t answer your questions get a reasonable explanation as to why. Most importantly, don’t be afraid to be the “squeaky wheel”.

    When I was waiting for surgery, I called the OR scheduling office every week. I got in months sooner just because I happened to call as a cancellation came up.

    xoxox

  6. Great news about the numbers! Also, I agree with what Annie says about the docs, you have enough to deal with without feeling ignored or chastized.
    P.S Andre is very impressed with your graph J. He says next time he would like to see gridlines and colour shading.

  7. Poo-poo on the doctor. We all encounter people like this, and as a healthcare worker, I can say I’ve seen my fair share. As irriating as it is, I prefer to feel sorry for them, cause anyone with an attitude like that has got problems!
    As for the…markers, ya-hoo, the nurse…ya-hoo, and advocating for yourself…double ya-hoo…it’s the only way to go! Sometimes you’ve got to push to get what you need, and when it comes to your health, that is definitely o.k.

    Keep on truckin!

    tt xoxo


Leave a comment

Categories